Skip Navigation
Entrance to Bishop Peak Open Space City of San Luis Obispo
Parks & Recreation Department

SearchContact UsCity Home
Department Programs : Ranger Service
 

(Updated 12/19/14)

With the exception of Cerro San Luis, all trails are currently CLOSED due to wet conditions. Trails should be passable by Saturday, December 20.

Trails/Open Space
Click here to find details on City natural reserves, open spaces and trails, including topographic maps, trailhead directions and open space guidelines.


Ranger-Led Hikes

Join a City Ranger for hikes of beautiful local open spaces. Hikers learn about geology, vegetation and wildlife. Please wear sturdy shoes and bring plenty of water. Hike duration varies with group. For more information or to schedule a group hike, call 781-7302. FREE.

Open Space Ages Days Dates Times
Reservoir Cyn Trailhead All Sun Aug 17 1 pm
Irish Hills @ Prefumo Cyn All Sun Sept 14 1 pm
Bowden Ranch All Sun Oct 12 1 pm
Froom Ranch @ Home Depot Lot All Sun Nov 9 1 pm
Johnson Ranch All Sun Dec 14 1 pm

Trail maps available online here.

Natural San Luis/SLO Stewards Hike Schedule (2015)
For more information on these hikes, hosted by ECOSLO, visit www.ecoslo.org or call 544-1777.

Open Space Ages Days Dates Times
Cerro San Luis/Lemon Grove All Sat Dec 27 (2014) 9 am
Cerro San Luis/Lemon Grove All Sat Jan 10 9 am
Irish Hills @ Madonna All Sun Jan 18 10 am
South Hills @ Woodbridge All Sat Jan 24 9 am
Bishop Peak @ Patricia All Sat Jan 31 9 am
Johnson Ranch All Sun Feb 15 11 am
Reservoir Canyon All Sat Feb 21 9 am
Irish Hills @ Madonna All Sat Feb 28 9 am
Reservoir Canyon All Sat Mar 7 9 am
Stenner Springs All Sat Mar 14 9 am
South Hills @ Woodbridge All Sat Mar 14 9 am
Bowden Ranch All Sat Mar 28 9 am
Terrace Hill All Sat April 11 9 am
Reservoir Canyon All Sun April 12 9 am
Johnson Ranch All Sat April 25 9 am
Irish Hills @ Madonna All Sat May 2 9 am
Irish Hills @ Prefumo All Sat May 9 9 am
Stenner Springs All Sat May 30 9 am
Reservoir Canyon All Sat June 6 9 am
Bishop Peak @ Felsman Loop All Sat June 13 9 am
Irish Hills @ Prefumo Canyon All Sat June 20 9 am
Cerro San Luis All Sun June 28 9 am


Trail Workdays
In partnership with SLO Stewards, frequent Trail Workdays are held in the City's Open Space. Tools will be provided, along with water and snacks. Meet at the trailhead at 9 a.m. Please wear long pants and sturdy shoes.

For more information or to schedule a group hike, call the Ranger Service Desk at 781-7302.

Open Space Ages Days Dates Times
Bishop Peak @ Patricia All Sat Aug 23 9 am-12 pm
Irish Hills @ Prefumo Cyn All Sat Sept 13 9 am-12 pm
Creek Day @ Santa Rosa Park All Sat Sept 20 9 am-12 pm
Stenner Springs @ end of road All Sat Sept 27 9 am-12 pm
Irish Hills @ Madonna All Sat Oct 11 9 am-12 pm
Cerro San Luis All Sat Oct 25 9 am-12 pm
Froom Ranch and Irish Hills (TrailWerks - Meet at Laguna Lake Park Pavilion) All Sat Nov 15 8 am-2 pm
Stenner Springs @ end of road All Sat Dec 6 9 am-12 pm
Johnson Ranch All Sat Dec 20 9 am-12 pm
 

Jr. Ranger Activity Camps at Laguna Lake Pavilion
Taught by City Ranger Service
REGISTER ONLINE HERE! The Ranger Service offers environmental education camps during summer. 
These fun-filled, week long camps are designed to teach young outdoor enthusiasts about many facets of the wild environment surrounding San Luis Obispo.


Volunteers Needed
The generous time and work of volunteers has become invaluable to the care and upkeep of the many acres of City open space. Service groups, associations, organizations, clubs, students, families, friends, or individuals are encouraged to volunteer. For more information call 781-7302.

  • Help to build and maintain trails

  • Help restore native vegetation along the creek corridor

  • Build bridges, catwalks, benches and more

  • Litter pick-up


Bishop Peak Photo
Tour
Take a photo tour of the Bishop Peak Nature Reserve via the Felsman Loop.

General Information

Through enforcement, education, maintenance and rehabilitation of the parks, creeks and open space, City Park Rangers manage the land for the public and for future generations to enjoy.

Protecting open space is not just a job for the Park Rangers. There are over 40 miles of trails and roads available to the public. The City encourages every user to aid in the preservation of the natural surroundings while enjoying time spent in these areas. Through environmental education on Ranger-Led Hikes, after-school programs and public contacts, the community builds awareness of the human effect on the natural environment and how people can personally help to restore its natural beauty. For more information on Ranger Service programs, call Doug Carscaden, Recreation Supervisor, at 781-7302.

City Open Space Hours: Dawn to Dusk

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

About the Department | Programs and Services | Advisory Bodies
FAQs | Documents Online | Department Home


About the City | Visiting SLO | City Government | Employment
Bids & Proposals | FAQs | Press Room | How are we doing?

©2014 City of San Luis Obispo